Eastern Caribbean Dollar (XCD)




Anguilla is a British overseas Territory, located in the Leeward Islands, in the Lesser Antilles chain. It is located east of the British Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico and north of Saint Martin. Anguilla is an archipelago, consisting of the main island of Anguilla and a number of small islands and Cays. Anguilla is the only island with a permanent population.

Despite evidence of an indigenous Amerindian population in Anguilla, traditional accounts date the colonisation of Anguilla by England at around 1650. The French took temporary control of the island, but returned in to England under the 1667 Treaty of Breda. Originally, the British operated and controlled Anguilla through Antigua, then later it was incorporated into St Kitts and Nevis. On the independence of St Kitts and Nevis, a new unified dependency of Saint Christopher-Nevis-Anguilla was established, much to the anger of many Anguillans. Following two successful revolutions, Anguilla was initially granted independence, then later returned as a British Crown Colony.

Amongst others, Anguilla is a member of and the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS). Through its membership of the OECS, Anguilla is a member of regional economic union, with its official currency being the EC dollar. Although English is the official language of Anguilla, “Anguilla Talk”, or “Anguillian” is widely spoken, and is similar to the creole based dialects heard across the English speaking Caribbean. Those from the Anguilla are British Overseas Territories citizens and British citizens.

Anguilla is a self-governing overseas territory of the United Kingdom. Executive power is held by the Government, with the Chief Minister as the head of government. Defence of Montserrat is the responsibility of the UK.