The Commonwealth of Grenada


103 to 107,300






Grenada is an independent state, which consists of three islands: Grenada, Carriacou and Petite Martinique. It is located in the southern region of Caribbean island chain, in the Lesser Antilles, part of the Windward Islands. It is situated northwest of Trinidad and Tobago and southwest of St Vincent and the Grenadines. Both indigenous Caribs and Arawaks inhabited Grenada prior to its colonisation by France in 1650. France ceded Grenada to Great Britain in 1763 under the Treaty of Paris, and it remained under British rule until 1974, when it was granted independence. In 1974, following a disputed election and subsequent coup by the People's Revolutionary Government, a Marxist-Leninist political party, the Constitution was suspended and Grenada sought ever-increasing political ties with Cuba, Nicaragua and the USSR. The USA grew concerned about the developing relationship between Grenada and other communist states, and in 1983, with the support of the Caribbean Regional Security System, invaded Grenada. The invasion came to an end in December 1983, and the constitution was reinstated. Elections were held in 1984 for the first time since the coup in 1974.

The capital city of Grenada is St George’s, and is located on the island of Grenada. Grenada is 12 miles wide and 21 miles long, and covers a land area of 120 sq. miles, while Carriacou is 13 sq. miles and Petite Martinique is 486 acres. Grenada is divided into six parishes, and has a population of around 107,300. Grenada is a member of CARICOM, the Commonwealth and the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS). Through its membership of the OECS, Grenada is a member of regional economic union, with its official currency being the EC dollar.  Whilst English is the official language of Grenada, Grenadian creole and French Patois are widely spoken.

Grenada operates as a Parliamentary Democracy and a Constitutional Monarchy. Queen Elizabeth II is the Head of State, represented locally by the Governor General, and the Prime Minister is the Head of Government. Parliament is comprised of two chambers, the House of Representatives and the Senate. Members of the House of Representatives are elected, whilst members of the Senate are appointed.

See Revised Treaty of Basseterre.