The Co-operative Republic of Guyana


Guyanese Dollar (G$)




Guyana is an independent country, located on the South American continent. Guyana lies north of Brazil, east of Venezuela and west of Suriname. Despite its location on the South American continent, Guyana is often considered a Caribbean state due to its historical links (notably with Europe and the slave trade), political involvement (Guyana is a member of CARICOM) and cultural similarities with Caribbean island states. Guyana was settled by the Dutch in the mid-17th century, and by the British from 1814 until independence in 1966. In 1970, Guyana became a Republic. There are nine indigenous tribes in Guyana.

Guyana is divided into 10 regions, with the capital city, Georgetown, located in the Demerara-Mahaica region. Guyana sits on a landmass of 214,970 km², although around 80% is covered by the Amazon rainforest. The population of Guyana is around 773,300. English is the official language of Guyana, however Guyanese creole is widely spoken, and a number of Amerindian languages are spoken by a minority of the population. Guyana is the only country on the South American continent with English as its official language. Guyana is a member of CARICOM and the Commonwealth.

As a republic, Guyana operates as a presidential representative democratic republic. The President of Guyana serves as both Head of State and Head of Government. The main political organs in Guyana are defined in the Constitution as supreme organs of democratic power, listed as the Parliament, the Cabinet and the President. The currency of Guyana is a Guyanese dollar (GYD/G$), which is not fixed to any other currency.