Republic of Trinidad and Tobago


1.4 million (2016)


TT Dollar (TT$)




Officially the Republic of Trinidad of Tobago, the twin island state is located at the southern point of the Caribbean, 6.8 miles off the northern point of South America. It consists of two main islands, Trinidad and Tobago, and several smaller islands and formations, including Huevos and St Giles Island. After changing hands numerous times, Trinidad and Tobago was ceded to the British in 1802, became independent in 1962 and a republic in 1976. Trinidad and Tobago are members of CARICOM and the Commonwealth.

In 2016, the population of Trinidad and Tobago sat at 1.4 million, with the majority of persons living in Trinidad. Major cities in Trinidad include Port of Spain (the capital city), Chaguaramas, San Juan and San Fernando, while Scarborough is the main town in Tobago.  Persons from Trinidad are referred to as ‘Trinidadians’, whilst those from Tobago are referred to as ‘Tobagonians’. The official language is English, however most persons speak Trinidadian English and Tobagonian English, which are creole languages.

Trinidad and Tobago operates as a Parliamentary Democracy, modelled on the United Kingdom. The 1976 Constitution, which established Trinidad and Tobago as a Republic, is the supreme law of the state. The constitution establishes a President as Head of State, to be chosen by members of Parliament. Parliament is comprised of a President, the House of Representatives and the Senate. Members of the House of Representatives are elected, whilst members of the Senate are appointed. Trinidad and Tobago is a member of the Commonwealth and CARICOM. The Judicial Committee of the Privy Council remains the highest appellate court for Trinidad and Tobago, despite the Caribbean Court of Justice being located in the capital, Port of Spain. The currency is the TT dollar (TT$), which is used in both Trinidad and Tobago. The TT$ is not fixed to any other currency.